Mad Prof Stage 9

Right! I think I am happy with the colour palette. I was tempted to leave the background in monochrome (all comments welcome of course!) but I am in a happy mood and thought let’s go for all colour everywhere. However, I have kept to a limited palette. This is really important in my opinion, when creating characters using a vector program like Adobe Illustrator. The strong, flat colours that this program is so good at producing gives a certain look….a bit like the certain look you get in CGI cartoons: no matter who is making em, Disney or Pixar or Dreamworks, they all have a certain quality about them that is defined by the technology being used as the tool. I find if you put too many “flavours” in the mix you lose the strength that is inherent in vector illustrations.

Right, now for some finishing touches and cropping in Photoshop…..

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

