sketch for piece entitled “Cloud 9”

This is a pencil I am working on for an illustration on the theme of love. I thought of the goofiness of being completely besotted and wanted to create to goofy characters to show that.

I also just scribbled in the little bird on the thought bubble and he has become my favourite thing in the drawing so far!

I am actually drawing this up in Corel Painter. I have been working in my traditional sketchbook alot recently, but have returned to Painter for this and remembered why I like it so much – I find I can be freer and more daring because I can simply undo any mark or stroke so quickly that I find that I don’t care so much about making mistakes…..I know I should feel the same way about drawing on paper, but Painter is so easy to use as a sketch tool – and provides quick results – that I find myself leaning towards the digital at present…

Watch this space for the next stage in this piece.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

